Australian Football Betting Sites – A League 2024

Last Updated: February 21, 2024

Australian FootballWelcome to my Australian League betting guide. It’s not the most popular league in the world and Australian football doesn’t exactly have tremendous liquidity but there are people out there wondering where to bet on A League football matches and it’s my aim to compare the different A League bookmakers in order to find the best for online punters.

I’m not just going to compare Australian League sites either there’s also got a guide on how the A League works for anyone who hasn’t bet on Australian football before and also included is a section on this page about the top teams in the A League as well.

Best Australian Football Bookmakers

Compare the sites below by what markets options are on offer, safety rating and the bonus deals available for new customers.

Bet £10 get £30 free bets
New Customers only. Bet £10* & Get £30* in Free Bets. Sign up, deposit between £5* and £10* to your account and bet365 will give you three times that value in Free Bets when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply. Registration required.
Bet £10 get £40
18+ New customers only. Opt in, bet £10  on any football market at minimum 1/1 odds. No cash out. Get £40 in Free Bets on selected events. Free Bets expire in 7 days. Card payments only. T&Cs Apply, see below. | Please gamble responsibly
Bet £10 get £40 bonus
New UK 18+ only. Register (excl. 13/04/2024) with promo code WELCOME40, Bet £10+ on Sports in one transaction within 7 days of registering. Get £30 Free Bets & £10 free spins within 10hrs of bet settlement. Bonuses expire 7 days after issue. Min odds, eligibility & payment exclusions apply. Full T&Cs apply. Full T&Cs apply
William Hill
Bet £10 get £30
18+. Play Safe. From 00:01 on 18.10.2022. £30 bonus. New customers only. Minimum £10 stake on odds of 1/2 (1.5) or greater on sportsbook (excluding Virtual markets). Further T&C's apply. #ad
Bet £5 get £20
18+ New UK+IRE customers. PayPal and certain deposit and bet types excluded. Min first £5 bet within 14 days of account reg at min odds 1/2 = 4 x £5 free bets valid for 4 days on sports, stake not returned, restrictions apply. T&Cs apply.
Paddy Power
Bet £20 Get It Back If It Loses
New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is £20. Only deposits made using cards or Apple Pay will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply. Paddy's Rewards Club: Get a £10 free bet when you place 5x bets of £10+. T&Cs apply.
Bet £10 get £30 + £10 casino
Min deposit £/€/$10 • A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £/€/$10 • Min odds 1/2 (1.50) • Free Bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days • Free Bet stakes not included in returns • Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager the bonus amount 40 times within 14 days • Casino Bonus expires after 60 days • Withdrawal restrictions, payment methods, country & Full T&C’s apply.
Bet £10 get £30
New Customer offer. Place a min £10 bet on the Sportsbook on odds of min 1/2 (1.5), get £30 in Free Bets. Rewards valid for 30 days. SMS verification required. Only deposits via cards will qualify. Please Gamble Responsibly. T&Cs apply.

Latest A-League Odds & Fixtures

No Odds to Display

No upcoming events/odds available - please check back.

How Does the A League Work?

Before you wade right in and start betting on the A League you should make sure you know exactly how it works first:

The A League is a relatively young league, founded in 2004 and is sanctioned by the Football Federation of Australia. It is the top Australasian professional football league composed of ten teams – nine of which are from Australia and one from New Zealand.

The A League season runs for five months during the warm Australian summer months of October to February. Each team is required to play each other three times amounting to 27 games in total per team.

If you do join one of the A League sites we’ve listed in the table above make sure you remember that teams play each other 3 times in a season – this makes looking back at previous match results all the more important.

The odd number of matches the teams have to play means that not all teams can play an equal number of home and away games. For this the FFA requires half of the league (five teams) to play two away and one home matches. The other half will play reverse – two home matches and one away game for every team they meet.

The next season, the five teams that played two home games and one away last season will be handed a two away and one home game schedule while the other five teams will play two home games for every team they play.

The Premiership and the Championship

At the end of every season, the top six teams play a finals series wherein they will be seeded and will have to play three games in a knockout format (except for the top two seeded teams who will play two games, home and away, and will progress based on points) before reaching the grand final. The two teams meeting in the final qualify for the AFC Champions League.

With the above in mind when you do wager on A league football at the start of the season there are odds on both who will win the league and who will win the Championship. Make sure you don’t get the two confused.

The Premiership title is given to the team who topped the regular season while the Championship is given to the winner of the finals series.

Who Are the Best A League Teams?

A-League Teams

The short history of the A League is not without momentous performances. Five teams have won the Premiership while only four have been crowned as Champions since the league’s inception. We’ve already dealt with the best bookmakers and where to bet on A League football lets now take a look at who to back and which teams to watch out for.

Melbourne Victory are the most successful A League side with two Premiership and two Championship titles under their belts. Sydney FC have three titles – one Premiership and two Championships and are the second most successful A League team ever. Four other different teams have won either the Premiership or Championship on one occasion.

No team has ever won the Premiership or the Championship back to back. The team closest to achieving this feat is the Central Coast Mariners, winning the Premiership in the 2007-2008 seasons before losing out to the Newcastle Jets in the finals.

Interestingly, the team that won the Premiership has gone on to win the Championship on four occasions. Melbourne Victory did this in 2006-2007 and 2008-2009 seasons, Sydney FC in 2009-2010, and Brisbane Roar in 2010-2011.

Perhaps the greatest achievement attained by an A League team was in 2008 when Adelaide United finished as Runners-up in the AFC Champions League, losing to J League side Gamba Osaka on both home and away legs.

Note: As of right now Bet365 are the only Australian football league bookmakers who offer betting on the outright league winner.

A League Resources

You don’t exactly get live news from the A League on Sky Sports News (unless it involves Emile Heskey) so if you’re planning to put some cash on A League football then you’re going to need a couple of websites which provide up to date info on the league.

One of the sites for information on the league is the official FFA Website ( On their site you’ll find league fixtures, results, information on the various stadiums throughout the league, some A League history and the latest news as well as match previews. You won’t find a better resource for Auistralian League info than this site.